Ingredients/Spices

Chinese ingredient – Thirteen spicy (十三香)

Thirteen spicy (Shi san xiang)十三香

A Chinese spicy consist of thirteen Chinese herbals: Zikou, Amomum fruit, nutmeg, Cinnamon, Clove, Pepper, Aniseed, Fennel, Costustoot, Angelica root, Sand ginger, Falangal, dried ginger. Use for making dumpling, Baozi,  Shai-mai, and so on.

“十三香”又称十全香就是指13种各具特色香味的中草药物,包括紫蔻、砂仁、肉蔻、肉桂、丁香、花椒、大料、小茴香、木香、白芷、三奈、良姜、干姜等。属调味料,厨房用品,多用于饺子,包子,烧卖等佐料。

About Jenny liu

I am Jenny and I come from Northern China, now live in Beijing and Seattle. This site is a place where I share my favorite authentic home-cooked Chinese recipes. Just give it a try if you like what you see here! I strongly believe that food tastes better and healthier when it's homemade!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Chinese ingredient – Thirteen spicy (十三香)

  1. I have heard of 5 spice powder and some of these similar ingredients but 13 spice is new for me. I will look for it on the shelves here in HK.

    Posted by Bam's Kitchen | 2012-03-08, 16:00
    • This is mainly used for dumpling or Baozi, I am not use it very often but use it everytime when I am making Baozi..sometimes I use Five Spicy Powder instead though.Thanks for stopping by Bobbi!

      Posted by Jenny liu | 2012-03-08, 18:03
  2. Hi
    Where to get the 13 spice powder in Hong Kong

    Thanks

    Posted by Merry | 2016-03-02, 06:23
  3. Hi

    Where to get in Hong Kong ?

    Posted by Merry | 2016-03-02, 06:24

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Chinese Baozi with meat stuffing酱肉包子 « My Favorite Chinese Recipes - 2012-03-08

Leave a Reply

